April 28 | 2017 Edwin Booth Award Ceremony

The Doctoral Theatre Students’ Association invites students and faculty to the 2017 Edwin Booth Award ceremony.

On Friday, April 28, 2017, acclaimed actor, playwright, performance artist, director, producer, and singer-songwriter Taylor Mac will be honored with the 2017 Edwin Booth Award, given by the doctoral students at the CUNY Graduate Center to “an individual or organization that has had a significant impact on theatre and performance in New York.” The DTSA nominated Taylor for this honor prior to the acclaimed run of 24-Decade History of Popular Music at St. Ann’s Warehouse, which was a major event of 2016. (“One of the greatest experiences of my life” – Wesley Morris, New York Times.) Last month, 24-Decade History was named the 2017 recipient of the Edward M. Kennedy Prize for Drama Inspired by American History and Taylor has also been recently honored with the Doris Duke and Herb Albert Awards.

This year’s presentation of the Edwin Booth Award will be held in the Proshansky Auditorium at the Graduate Center in association with GC Public Programs and the Martin E. Segal Center. Scheduled guests and performers include MC Salty Brine, 24-Decade’s music director Matt Ray and costume designer Machine Dazzle, Tigger!, Heather Christian, and Paul Zimet & Ellen Maddow. Frank Hentschker, Executive Director of the Segal Center, will interview Taylor and CUNY Professor Sean Edgecomb will speak, as will current students in the program.

Admission is free. We recommend that students and faculty wishing to attend this year’s Booth Award reserve tickets soon: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/taylor-mac-and-friends-2017-booth-award-ceremony-registration-31459491185[eventbrite.com]

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *